Academic Senate of the Faculty

The Academic Senate of Faculty of Pharmacy, Comenius University in Bratislava together with the Dean, the Scientific Council and the Disciplinary Commission of the Faculty form the self-government body of Faculty of Pharmacy.

The academic senates were established by the Higher Education Act No. 172/1990 just after the 1989 changes. The Academic Senate of Faculty of Pharmacy consists of twenty-one members. Fourteen members represent the employees of the Faculty (the employee part), the students are represented by seven students (the student part), including PhD students. The Academic Senate members are elected by ballot by members of the employee part and the student part of the academic community of the Faculty for a four-year term of office.

The scope of the Academic Senate is determined by the Higher Education Act (§ 27 of Act No. 131/2002 Coll.), the statute of Comenius University and the statute of Faculty of Pharmacy. The Academic Senate decides upon fundamental issues of Faculty activities, for example it approves internal regulations of the Faculty, approves the budget of the Faculty and supervises the use of the Faculty finances. It elects a candidate for the Dean or recalls him from the office, approves the appointment of Vice-Deans, approves the annual report on the activities and economic management of the Faculty and the Faculty long-term plan. It also approves the additional conditions for admission to the study in study programmes carried out by the Faculty, and other activities within the scope of the Faculty Senate given by the law.